More than one year ago I read my first climate fiction book – The History of Bees by Maja Lunde (my review). Ever since I’ve been (not so) patiently waiting for the release of the second book of the series – The End of the Ocean. Read it, loved it, ready to share my thoughts with you!


The End of the Ocean in a nutshell

The End of the Ocean is a climate fiction story centered around the future global shortage of water. It is the second book of the Climate Quartet series by Maja Lunde.

The book features 2 storylines that alternate, each one happening in a different time period. In 2019, the old lady Signe goes on a dangerous ocean-crossing in a sailboat. In 2041, David and his daughter Lou face extreme droughts and try to reach Northern territories in search of water.

Climate change and its terrifying consequences are the leitmotif of the story, alongside father-daughter relation, love, and climate activism.


Overall impression

The End of the Ocean is a heartbreaking yet hopeful book. Each of the 2 storylines has its own charm and depicts different aspects of the water crisis; I find the combination a successful one.

On one hand, Signe’s story reminded me of climate activist Greta Thunberg – especially of her desire to protect nature and raise awareness on climate destruction. On another hand, the story of David and Lou is from a not impossible future, a scary scenario that our children or grandchildren might witness to some degree. Some aspects of the 2040s story are spine-chilling, to say the least.


The Climate Quartet series

Maja Lunde, one of Norway’s most “prominent advocates for the climate cause“, set out on the mission to raise awareness about climate change through her Climate Quartet series.

The series will consist of 4 books – 3 books are already published, while the 4th book is work in progress:

  • The History of Bees (my review) – focus on insects
  • The End of the Ocean – focus on water
  • The Last Wild Horses (my review) – focus on animals
  • ? – focus on plants

If you’re interested to read more about the Climate Quartet, check out this post where I wrote more about the series.

Took advantage of my birthday decorations & flowers for a bookish photoshooting  Many thanks to my mom for the lovely flower arrangements!

Wrap-up

I definitely recommend reading The End of the Ocean – and I also recommend offering it as a present to your close ones. The 2 books I read by Maja Lunde – The History of Bees & The End of the Ocean – are like a (much needed) cold shower in regard with climate change and what can we expect for the next generations.

What climate fiction books did you enjoy reading? I’ve just realized that I read quite a lot of climate fiction this year, even the previous 3 books in a row were climate fiction!


If you would like to buy books or other (non)bookish things, please consider using one of these links: Amazon | Waterstones | Carturesti. Thank you!

‘Till next time … happy reading!

Georgiana


Cover image – painting by Scott Naismith

4 thoughts on “The End of the Ocean by Maja Lunde (book review) – before and after the water crisis hits the Earth

    1. I find it so interesting to read climate fiction, I think it is an easier way to make people comprehend what could / will happen in the future. It is scary, but also I hope it serves as a cautionary tale.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment